Madly in Love

For the past few months, I’ve been struggling with the idea of relationship and what that looks like, especially as a Christ follower. Having a boyfriend is the norm for people my age. It’s what we are supposed to do. But in order to have a boyfriend, I have to prepare myself to be in relationship. I can’t just throw myself into that relationship thinking that it will work itself out. I made that mistake before, and it definitely cost me a lot of heartache, tears and time. I want to work on myself before I work on relationship. I want to become someone worth catching & someone worth pursuing.

I recently listened to a series called “The New Rules of Love, Sex and Dating” by Andy Stanley, pastor of Northpoint Community Church. I would really encourage everyone, especially young people, to look it up on iTunes and listen to it. It’s a three part series, so give yourself a couple of days, but believe me, it’s so worth it. It talks about dating tips, what a godly relationship looks like, and what to look for in a future partner. Anyway, one thing Andy says in his sermon really has been plaguing my mind.

“Are you the person the person you’re looking for is looking for?”

I have to become the person that the person I desire desires. It doesn’t just happen this way. It takes work. Another quote he said which is super powerful:

It’s not about finding the right person. It’s about becoming the right person.

Amidst all this boyfriend thought, my Father has been showing me what relationship with Him looks like as well. As much as I desire to be pursued by a man, the Father desires me and you to pursue him in the same way! He wants us to chase after Him.

I’ve really been meditating on the book of Hosea for the past few months as well. If you don’t know the premise of the book, it’s about how God calls this man, Hosea, to marry a prostitute, Gomer. Hosea does as he is told, yet still experiences much heartache because of Gomer. Gomer continually goes back to her old ways, cheating on Hosea and treating him unkindly. Yet Hosea does not give up on Gomer. He brings her back time and time again, showing her the meaning of true love. This book is a representation of God’s love for us. We are Gomer. We continually cheat on God, putting things before Him and turning our back on Him. But he doesn’t give up on us, like he should.

” ‘But then I will win her back once again. I will lead her into the desert and speak tenderly to her there. I will return her vineyards to her and transform the Valley of Trouble into a gateway of hope. She will give herself to me there, as she did long ago when she was young, when I freed her from her captivity in Egypt. When that day comes,’ says the Lord, ‘you will call me my husband instead of my master. O Isreal, I will wipe the many names of Baal from your lips, and you will never mention them again. . . I will make you my wife forever, showing you righteousness and justice, unfailing love and compassion. I will be faithful to you and make you mine, and you will finally know me as the Lord.’ ” -Hosea 2:14-17, 19-20 (NLT)

I can’t get over it. I read it over and over and over, yet I’m still amazed. I never want to be desensitized to that. Isn’t that what every girl, woman, man, husband desires? To be shown unfailing love and compassion? For someone to say to them, I will forever make you mine? We ALL want that. And many times we seek that in relationship with another person. Which isn’t necessarily wrong. God put man and woman on this Earth for a reason, one of which is to be in fulfilling relationship. However, before we seek that from another person, we need to seek that from the One already pursuing us, the Lord. He is waiting. If we come into a love relationship with Him first, all other relationships will benefit.

The song below pretty much sums up this post. I really have been meditating on the lyrics to it. They are extremely powerful and moving, at least to me. It’s from the point of view of God looking at us from above.

Madly in Love with You
Sean McConnell

See you down there everyday
Trying to find a different way
To build some kind of ladder to the sky

Trying to find some way to see
Secrets of eternity, and they don’t come all at once
And you don’t know why

Well how do you think it feels to hear you screaming out my name
While all the while I’m trying to open up your heart
See you when you cry yourself to sleep
It’s tearing me apart

I know you wish you could see me
That’s the way it has to be
Someday you’ll understand,
don’t you lose your faith in me

I know you wish you could hear me
Sometimes it’s so hard to do
But every morning sunrise it says
I’m madly in love with you
Yes I’m madly in love with you
Yes I’m madly in love with you
Yes I’m madly in love with you

I know that you’re waiting for,
A chance to come in from the war
If only a moment, if only a day

A place where you feel safe and warm
A sanctuary from the storm
Until all of these questions fade away

But I cannot count on all the signs
You’ve passed away as mere coincidence
And I’m running out of ways to break through
Like a lonely lover, Waiting by the ocean
I’ll never give up on you

I know you wish you could see me
That’s the way it has to be
Someday you’ll understand,
Don’t you lose your faith in me

I know you wish you could hear me
Sometimes it’s so hard to do
But every morning sunrise it says
I’m madly in love with you
Yes I’m madly in love with you
Yes I’m madly in love with you
Yes I’m madly in love with you

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

